The realization of a Risk Taker.

Ashlee Perry
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readJan 18, 2015

During last semester, a BDW grad advised us on ways to maximize our year in the program. Although he had much to say, one thing resonated with me… he called us Risk Takers.

Never, in my close to 30 years of life, have I ever thought of myself as a risk taker. I often spend a lot of time focusing on my anxieties and how they hold me back or try to determine what is the most responsible or safe decision to make. Up until that point I hadn’t even considered how crazy my decision to go to BDW really was.

Quitting my 9–5 job, with a small but steady pay check, where I had taught myself graphic design and had (mostly) free reign of the design products our company put out, to realize my dreams of doing more. Of creating more meaningful content that was useful to people or really spoke to them. Knowing there was a better way to use my creative talents coupled with my passion for people and why they behave the way they do. I decided the sky was my limit and I could do anything, that I have a unique perspective on this world and I want to give it to everyone.

So I took a risk last year. I quit my limiting job, I took out loans, I put my social life on hold. But most importantly, I am realizing my dreams and discovering I am capable of being an artist, a designer, a developer, an innovator, a creator, a learner, a teacher, a risk taker, all in one body and mind.

I am BDW.

Follow RE: Write for more articles from BDW Students

Learn more about the BDW program.

--

--

Ashlee Perry
RE: Write

Product Designer at Opendoor, previously at Uber. Urban living. World loving. Aspiring adventurer. Creator of things.