The Stress of the Portfolio

No way to avoid it, and impossible to be satisfied

Aitana Rothfeld
RE: Write
1 min readApr 7, 2020

--

One day before CU Boulder announced that classes would be held remote due to covid-19 concerns, we sat down in lab and started the dreaded discussion: portfolios.

Oh no.

So I have a web portfolio. Back when I was applying to master’s programs in 2018, I figured it couldn’t hurt. I even used it to obtain a marketing position. Was it any good? Absolutely not. I also decided to torture myself by using Wordpress, instead of a more malleable Squarespace.

And so it begins…

So far, most of what I have done during my spring break is attempting to break apart what I had initially created, and make something that looks more like the glossy examples I see on the Internet. I am sticking with Wordpress (please send help), because I have a mild grasp on how it works, and it seems stressful to change it out now.

Patience is a virtue, young padawan

This is going to take a long, long while. Now that I can feel mildly happy about my new web portfolio’s theme and formatting, I need to slowly and meticulously go through each project that I have created, choose 5–7, and make them look comprehensive and beautiful. No big deal.

--

--

Aitana Rothfeld
RE: Write

I go through life imagining meaningful experiences for human beings, making them a reality through research and design.