The two best things I read this week

Matt Isola
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readNov 30, 2017

I read two things this week that were so compelling that I can’t help but share. I don’t mean to assume that anyone gives a shit about things I find illuminating, but these articles had an effect on me that I haven’t felt from writing in a long time.

  1. The Nationalist’s Delusion by Adam Serwer (The Atlantic)
The Nationalist’s Delusion by Adam Serwer

If you’re like me, frustrated that our country allowed for the election of a man who ignores reason and encourages racism and prejudice to the highest office in our land, then this is an article for you. It is a uniquely well written piece and I could not help but read it through again when I was finished.

This article is 10,000 gripping words about the the inherent dissonance of white Americans and racism, and how that has fueled the manifestation of Trumpism. It indisputably illuminates the hypocrisy of America, a society created by slaveholders on the premise that all men are created equal. It reads like a historical fiction novel except there is no denying the validity of the arguments made no matter your position on the political spectrum. Unlike many other polarizing articles about Trump, how he won, and the people who voted for him, this article presents the uncomfortable truth of the state of our nation backed up by bullet proof evidence. It’s one of those articles that restores your faith in the power of journalism. Here is the link.

2. The Tail End By Tim Urban

The Tail End By Tim Urban

This article was originally posted in 2015, and only takes about 5 minutes to get through. Using simple graphs, he forces the reader to think about time in the number of events we have left. It is a tribute to the power of simplicity in storytelling. It hit me like a brick. I don’t want to spoil it by giving away more than that. Warning: it’s a tear jerker. Good tears, though. Read it here.

Both of these pieces forced me to think introspectively about my priorities in life and the reasons I do the the things I do. I think we should all seek out more things like this. If you’ve read something that moved you recently, please share with me!

--

--

Matt Isola
RE: Write

Aggregator of Viewpoints. Notebook Aficionado.