Use of Storytelling for Ad

Makenna Considine
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2019

Creating a print ad for my personal branding was very useful for me. At first, I wasn’t excited about it because I couldn’t think of anything that would be fun and interesting, especially something that represents myself and services. Then I remembered that every good ad starts with a story.

I landed upon the idea of honeybees. I really liked the idea that all honey bees travel thousands of miles to make honey in order to survive. In the hive, they must work together in order to produce the honey for the queen. I think that branding a business is similar, because we must work together in order to grow the company and survive.

From my research I learned that social bees are organized, industrious and intelligent. They work diligently all summer in order to produce enough food to survive the winter. Social bees are clean and fastidious, and they arrange their lives around one central member of the hive, the queen.

The idea around the campaign is that we are all working bees, working together to grow and survive.

Here are some slogans i came up with:

“Buzz Buzz

That honey won’t make itself “

(picture of dripping honey along top of page)

“Enjoy the fruits of your labor

Be efficient, get results

Dedicated to helping your brand grow”

“Why be a working bee when you can be a queen”

I am working on the copy of this ad. I would like feedback on if “enjoy the fruits of your labor” is eye-catching enough, or if there could perhaps be a more alluring copy in the title.

I am playing around with the idea of erasing the left pink bee hive, and only using the honey picture at the top, with a similar message “enjoy the fruits of your labor or that honey won’t make itself”

I had a really fun time working with this idea and coming up with a story around it. In the future, i would like to put more emphasis on storytelling in my advertisements and designs.

--

--

Makenna Considine
RE: Write

Masters student @ University of Colorado Boulder // Focus in Brand Design