UX Portfolio

Status Update / Work Schedule

Kelly Phillips
RE: Write
4 min readMay 3, 2019

--

about me page

I’ve been steadily working on my UX portfolio since last fall. The main challenge I’ve run into up to this point is not having any fully complete projects, and finding time to designate to each project. This is an overview of my portfolio projects I have up to this point with a description of them, what needs to be done still, and an estimated time frame it will take to complete each project.

Project 1: Aero (case study)

The project I’ve been working on all semester with two classmates is a luxury travel app called Aero (tentatively). So far, my team and I have done research, interviews, a wireframes of the app in Material Design. What I still need to do to complete this case study is add in more process images, create graphics for my user journeys, etc, design the app for iOS, and brand it. My team and I have a couple weeks blocked out this summer to complete this project and fix up a few areas that need it.

Needs: flesh out app (booking/check out, global search), iOS version, brand design, clickable prototype

Estimated time frame: 2–3 weeks over summer semester

Project 2: Glo (case study)

Glo is a year-long extensive project I have been working on with 3 other people. It is a physical product that helps users to build healthy habits through a non-invasive notification device. Glo is in the thick of iteration. We have discussed completely changing the design, the brand, the alerts, etc. This project will continue on until early August, and by then I’ll have a thorough case study to add to my portfolio.

Needs: user testing, research, product development, etc

Estimated time frame: now-August

Project 3: Accessibility Contacts App

This project was done over 2 weeks last semester. Since then, I have learned a lot about accessibility and UI/UX design. My plan for this project is to completely redo it, and possibly add some new layers to this project. I might change this project from a contacts app to redoing an existing app to fit accessibility needs. I need to work on telling a more compelling story for this project.

Needs: research, user testing, user flow, clickable prototype, better story

Estimated time frame: 2 weeks over summer semester

Project 4: VR Walkthrough

My project for Critical Making is basically all finished. After I present it Wednesday night, I’ll have photos and videos to add to my portfolio page. All I need to add to this project is some research, and some UX information. I’d like to frame this project in a UX way, and mention how this solution can be incorporated into websites like Zillow for homebuyers to utilize. Other than that, I don’t think this project will require that much more work.

Needs: renders (hero image), videos/photos of it in action, UX story (incorporate how users would use this)

Estimated time frame: 1 week (between Spring and Maymester)

Project 5: Chirp (case study)

Chirp is an alarm clock app designed for daily commuters that I started during a week-long project brief. I really want to elaborate and expand on what I’ve done for this project already, in the form of research, interviews, user journeys, and branding/UI. I feel like this project was a great starting point that can turn into something really compelling, but I’m not opposed to removing it if a sprint project turns out better.

Needs: research, user testing, user flows, clickable prototype, refine branding

Estimated time frame: 1 week over summer semester

Project 6: Subscription Box

This is a completely new project that I haven’t started yet. My idea for this is to design and brand a subscription box for specialty teas called Kindred Spirits, and design a companion app to go along with it where users can customize their box experience. The phases of this project are research, UX/UI/Brand design, user testing. Since I haven’t started this project yet, I’m going to designate 2 weeks of time from start to finish. (I’d love a brief for this assignment)

Needs: research, user flows, unboxing/companion app UX, branding

Estimated time frame: 2–3 weeks over summer semester

What I need help with overall

  1. Creating polished diagrams for user flows, UX research, etc
  2. Having enough process work
  3. Telling a compelling story for each project

Possible add-ins

  1. Daily UI challenge
  2. Illustration section
  3. Any real world work (don’t have any yet but I’m hoping!)
  4. Maymester sprint deliverables

--

--