We Should All Be Feminists Final Project

Erin Stenzel
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readMay 9, 2018

At the beginning of Spring semester, I set out to design a kit for social innovation based on Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s essay, “We Should All Be Feminists.” Looking back at my original blog post, I had some high hopes for this project. While I initially planned to design an “A-Z of Feminism” book and an “On this Day” desk calendar, I ran into some hiccups along the way, one of them being, there is no way I could do all this with my current workload. I decided it was probably more important to occasionally bathe and have a semi-regular eating schedule.

Although I did not meet my initial goal, I am still happy with the final product. The kit includes:

  • 12 Hanging File Folders
  • 160-page Journal
  • 50 Gold Paper Clips and Acrylic Box
  • 4 Animal Magnets and Acrylic Box
  • 12 Gold Binder Clips and Acrylic Box
  • 100-Sheet Notepad
  • Acrylic Stapler with Gold Toned Hardware
  • Gold Prism 2019 Calendar Display
  • Black and Gold Desktop File Box

Before diving into the actual kit, I spent the first month designing a brand for my fictitious company, Modern Feminist.

Who is Modern Feminist?

Modern Feminist believes we should all be feminists. Founded in 2017, Modern Feminist educates, motivates, and inspires others to discover the true meaning of feminism and gender equality.

Despite considerable advancements in women’s rights, gender inequality still exists in the United States. At Modern Feminist, we believe that it is our social responsibility to promote women’s leadership and foster gender equality to create a more inclusive society.

Design Strategy

The Modern Feminist brand is classy and professional. When we walk into the board room, people notice. We are confident and intelligent, but also feminine and fashionable. Gold tones, sharp designs, and modern sophistication are the hallmarks of the Modern Feminist brand.

Logo & Branding

Product Packaging

Final Kit

Website

--

--

Erin Stenzel
RE: Write

Modern Feminist Designing for Social Innovation