Wedding Registries Should Be For the Single Folk

Mackenzie Christine
RE: Write
2 min readJan 25, 2015

--

I turned the dirty thirty a couple of months ago and am one of the few single girls in my group of friends. Most of my friends are married, engaged or about to be engaged. In all honesty I don’t mind being single. Right now I am in grad school, and I don’t think I would have made the decision to go back to school if I were in a relationship. Moving to a different state is a way easier decision to make when you don’t have to take into account the feelings of a loved one.

BUT, I have to admit I am a little jealous of my friend’s wedding registries. I love free shit and even more, I love expensive free shit. I could care less about the wedding, but if I can score a $600 Nespresso maker and J.A. Henckels knife set then bring on the boy and the party!

However, it doesn’t look like I’ll be getting engaged anytime soon. So just because I’m not getting married means I don’t get to create a registry? That doesn’t seem fair. It implies I have somehow failed at this part of life — you have not found your life partner and, therefore; you will not be rewarded with free shit.

In fact I think our culture is going about this whole wedding registry thing the wrong way. I believe registries should be for people who are NOT married. The single folk are the ones who could really benefit from a free Vitamix. Married couples are bringing in two incomes and here I am, a grad student who can barely pay her rent. Married people also have each other to rely on for instant validation, whereas I could achieve those same feeling from the beautiful china set I put out for my Friday night dinner party guests.

So here’s my proposition, if I am still single by the age of 35 I think it should be kosher to throw myself a singles party along with a registry. After all, I’ll be exiting my prime years at 35 and the chances of me meeting my dream man are dramatically decreased. If people can throw gastric bypass surgery parties then I don’t think my idea is far-fetched. Food for thought.

--

--

Mackenzie Christine
RE: Write

Creative Nerd, Curious Researcher, UX Designer, Problem Solver