What Grinds My Gears

Cameron Hokanson
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2018

Where do you draw the line?
This week I was particularly frustrated at the way a contest was handled. A group that I am in that entered an entrepreneur contest, similar to Shark Tank. We really worked hard to tailor our pitch to accommodate the five-minute limitation that was given in the original criteria. The groups that followed all went over the time limit. In my opinion, they shouldn’t have been able to present their following slides which had their marketing plan and business plans. Based on principle, I felt that they shouldn’t have been able to share the information, however, the judges asked to see them. Now, we, as a group, made it possible that we got through the presentation in the allotted time given. Now, I know it’s petty, but those are the rules. If we went over like everyone else, there’s no telling what we could’ve added to our pitch. The fact that they were scored on the things that they didn’t present in their time frame, just isn’t right.
On the flip side, how do I opening want a good idea not to come to the surface? There were really great teams that competed, and I thought that their ideas may have the chance to change lives. There lies the predicament. Do I look like a sore loser and complain to the judges about ideas that were great, or do I keep my mouth shut and take the high road? I took the high road and obviously am still slightly bothered by it. This is my way of venting and turning the page. Just something to think about.

--

--