Where I ACTUALLY Get My News

Alyssa Gonzalez
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readSep 17, 2016

I don’t remember the last time I was in search of a newspaper to update myself on current events. The first thing I do in the morning, after I muster up the energy to open my eyes, is check my social media apps. I’ll sit in bed scrolling through Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat for a little bit before I really get my day started. This regular part of my routine however is a key factor in how I get my news. I don’t have time to sit down and read the paper or go to websites looking for specific news. I’m not ashamed to admit that I get all of my news from my Facebook newsfeed, Snapchat and Buzzfeed. Those sites make it more interesting and accessible for a majority of people and I have never been more informed of current events than I am now. According to Pew Research Center, 62% of U.S. adults receive their news from various social media platforms. So I know i’m not the only one. It makes me curious why. Obviously, we live in a digital age. Print media is being phased out and its all about digital, digital, digital. I think it’s extremely interesting how social media sites have developed from a way to connect people to a source of information while also having social interactions at the same time. Most people’s Facebook pages are full of shared posts from various news organizations and it’s almost become a part of our social media presence; our news interests and opinions on current events. It makes me optimistic for the future of social media becoming an intellectual land full of friends and emojis. Thanks social media, keep up the good work!

--

--