Why Accessibility Inspires Me

And why it should inspire you, too.

Sarah Cohen
RE: Write
4 min readOct 1, 2018

--

Two weeks ago we were instructed to write down our strongest communication skill and our passion on a piece of paper. I have always been a strong writer, so that was easy. Choosing a passion, however, was difficult. I am passionate about so many things. I wrote down fashion, beauty, and accessibility, three things I am excited to focus on in this program.

We were instructed to explain one of our passions using our communication skill. At first, I was disappointed. I didn’t want to write a story or a poem, I wanted to push myself out of the box. I thought about my strength and the different applications of written communication. What makes me a strong writer? I know how to select the right words. I understand that words have different meanings across time, culture and individuals.

While considering this through the lens of accessibility, I had an epiphany. A picture is worth 1000 words, but to my brother, who is completely blind, a word can be worth 1000 pictures.

My sister, brother and I around the time Jake lost his sight.

I sat down and wrote down ten impactful words in the accessible-design space. I then wrote my own definitions that explained what the word meant to me. My passion for accessibility began in childhood. My brother, Jake is a cancer survivor who lost his vision at age 12. Seeing first how adversity forces adaptability has inspired my way of thinking. My personal motto is the Latin term, “inveniam viam,” which loosely translates to “if there is not a way, I shall make one.” I am passionate about accessibility because I enjoy creative problem-solving.

In order to explain this passion, I wanted to design an experience that forced empathy. I decided to ask my brother to help me out. I designed an experience intended for the blind to demonstrate how it might feel to experience the world as a visually impaired individual. I wanted to make it clear that when an experience is not designed for you, it does not make it a bad experience. In fact, it can be even more enjoyable. However, when this experience is not even accessible to you, it can feel degrading. By making our designs accessible, we not only include all humans but we open the doors to an entirely different world of design. It encourages us to think in new ways and design in ways that are interactive, multi-sensory and innovative.

I typed out my definitions onto card-stock, using minimal visual design. I then covered the words using a DIY scratch-off lottery ticket tutorial so that only the definitions were showing. (It’s acrylic paint, dish soap, and packing tape. Not a bad skill to keep in your back pocket.) I then asked my brother to make Braille labels with a machine called a 6-Dot.

Making Braille labels
The cards and labels, ready to go. I had to ask Jake to help me and ensure no labels would be upside-down.
Finished cards

When I presented in class, I first asked students to close their eyes and guess the definition using only the braille. Obviously, this was impossible.

I then asked them to look at the definitions and guess the words. While this was easier, it still did not result in any guesses. Finally, I allowed students to scratch the paint off the word an reveal the definition. This reversed the way we usually explain what words mean to us. It also demonstrated how accessibility can inspire unique and creative experiences.

Students trying to guess without their vision.
Scratching off the paint and revealing the words.

My definitions were as follows:

accessible

1. a design that does not exclude, by nature, a group of users

2. a design that is easy to use; empowering design

design

1. a skillful execution of creative problem solving

disability

  1. a different user experience

interactive

1. engaging, captivating, stimulating or otherwise entertaining; something with design depth

2. thoughtful design that fosters emotional connections and authentic relationships

adversity

1. a birthplace for innovation

beauty

1. the quality present in something, perceived by human senses, that is satisfying to the mind

2. purpose; meaning

aesthetic

1. including, but not limited to: the visual design of a product and associated textures, scents, tastes, sounds, and emotions that contribute to a subject’s overall feel

ignorance

1. assumptions; lack of empathy

inclusive design

1. a framework for pushing boundaries and producing excellent design

2. design that not only is functional for all but is also enjoyable for everyone

creativity

1. the convergence of empathy and problem solving

Overall, I hope the experience inspired students to view accessibility as an opportunity instead of a burden. When challenges are met with excitement and the desire to push boundaries, only great things can happen.

For those of you interested in the 6-Dot machine, this is a video of how it works:

--

--

Sarah Cohen
RE: Write

Experience Design Student | CMCI Studio, CU Boulder | Inspired by good coffee, sunny weather and passionate people.