Why I am excited about AR

Yeon Choi
RE: Write
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2020

Recently, I’ve read an article from Harvard Business Review, Why Every Organization Needs an Augmented Reality Strategy by Michael E. Porter and James E. Heppelmann. This article was written in 2017, and it is still relevant in 2020.

In a brief, they point out the problem and access to our current technology. They said that our physical space is 3-dimensional, but most of our data is locked in 2-dimensional space. Because of the lack of technology, we are not able to use all the resources and data we have.

The solution to solve the problem is to merge between AR and data to the physical object. By showing the data process, people can learn and understand from the environment.

As a result, people will be able to increase efficiency and productivity in their professional training like how they use it in GE, Mayo Clinic, US Navy.

©HBR

Before the program, I didn’t know the importance of AR or VR. I didn’t even know what the difference is. Within the semester, I’ve learned the difference and how to make AR and VR environments.

AR is an Augmented Reality that you apply the digital form onto our physical world. Like how you can see Ikea furniture in your room. VR is a Virtual Reality that you wear a VR headset to see the virtual world. Most of VR is used in games.

By reading this article, I am excited to know why I want to know more about the AR.

AR will change our life, like how the iPhone changed our lives. Before the iPhone, you had to carry your phone, mp3, and camera. After the iPhone, it’s unnecessary to carry all. Now it replaces our computer, and the cloud system connects all your devices.

I trust that AR technology will expand our industry rather than regress. It’s because I see the limit of the smartphone when I explore AR. Of course, our current AR technology won’t replace all of the devices. But it’s going to merge into our life slowly.

It’s challenging to think about what I can do with AR. It’s minimal with my skills. But because this industry is still new and in the development phase, I can imagine and explore more than what I could think.

The problem of AR development is very limited. There are not many people who are familiar with the tools. Understanding the 3D space with Cinema 4d, exploring animation and player control with Unity, and exporting the files with Xcode is not the right way to explore for the beginners.

The product roadmap for AR Foundation — Unite Copenhagen

To build AR, I have to think of how the user will explore user experience, how the user interface will look, and how I’m going to execute with C#. As a UX UI designer, we have to think of how the user will move and react to the environment. Like how the swipe means going to the next page and pinch to zoom into the image was all new behavior for the users. People used to have buttons, knobs, or even a physical screen to interact with the device. Through AR, people won’t have to touch the physical screen. Instead, they will wear a device activates with gestures on space and use voice control, like Alexa.

Conclusion

I’m excited to explore AR further in my career. I want to continue to learn how it will integrate with our life and behavior. Thinking about how people would use the product with gestures.

Recently I bought an iPad Pro to explore LiDAR Scanner, unfortunately, the current feature listed on the site is different than what I’ve experienced.

Apple site
My experience

--

--