Working in Design Teams

Communicate in. Iterate out.

Aitana Rothfeld
RE: Write
1 min readMar 7, 2020

--

February was a month of group projects at CMCI Studio. At one point, I realized that, between the various team projects, we were each presenting at least 4 times a week.

While I now feel less terrified about presenting my designs, especially after pitching at the NVC and for an hour in front of one client, I feel like there is much that I can learn still on how to effectively communicate with a variety of designers.

How do you bridge the gap between so many different personalities, skill sets, interests, while making sure that each of you feel valued and heard? It feels particularly hard with design teams, as there is the added pressure of designing work that you then have to present to your team members.

Do you work separately on different items, and then come together to combine them? Do you establish a basic format first, and then go in different directions? Do you work through stages, each person iterating off of what the last person has done? Or, just work side by side the entire time? Honestly, I have no idea what works best.

All I know is, I am excited for a little spring break.

--

--

Aitana Rothfeld
RE: Write

I go through life imagining meaningful experiences for human beings, making them a reality through research and design.