Yes Mom, I’m Still Alive

Megan
RE: Write
Published in
2 min readApr 7, 2020

Being stuck inside is great for an introvert. I’ve been able to read more, get some schoolwork done, play games, and re-watch the Harry Potter series (Lord of the Rings, Marvel, and Men in Black are up next), but I have also been having hour long conversations every single day with my mom—who is back in Illinois and worried this is the end of the world. I love my mom, but there is only so many times I can say “Yes we’re all fine, no we don’t have toilet paper” a week.

It was while watching the 2nd Harry Potter that I realized these basic health conversations could be cut back by taking an idea from the mind of J.K. Rowling and modifying it to fit a couple of our mechanical muggle marvels.

Do you remember the clock in the Weasley household that had a picture of each family member on it and where they were? (One of the locations was ‘Peril’, if I remember correctly) With current technology (phone tracking, and Fitbit monitoring) we could easily create a similar construct and market it to families all over the world experiencing separation anxiety in the midst of Corona19. Obviously there would need to be some bugs worked out and some privacy protocols, (I know I don’t want my parents knowing that I haven’t moved in 14 hours…) but some basic overview states like Alive, Home, Walking the dog etc. could be interesting to explore.

--

--