Have you ever been a book?

Laila Bashar Kloub
Reaction Playbook
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2017

In Schloss Leopoldskron, in the second story of Max Reinhardt library, I was sitting beside the window which has a fascinating view to the Salzburg lake, answering questions about “Arab, Muslim, Girls”. My book title.

Advertising my book! (Pablo Zarate)

This was not a random title, 83 people from different countries, are participating in Salzburg Global Seminar.

Americans, South Americans, Europeans, Africans, Chinese, and others. A lot of these people have never heard about Arabs, and Muslims girls, but from the media.

Have you ever been a book? This is a very serious question, if your answer is no, then I really recommend you to read about one of the most interesting experiences that I have ever had.

Participate in such a creative idea called “human library”. And being an open book who can share beliefs, ideas, and answering many different questions!

Books titles (Pablo Zarate)

Does the media transmit reality?

I always thought the answer was No, somehow I was right this time!

I was supposed to answer some weird questions that I have never thought I will be asked.

Although some questions were of “how Arabs, Muslims girls looks like” type, other questions were of “how do you deal with some limits like not being able to drive?”

The first one, was so general. I realized some people don’t really try to look for what media is telling them.

The second, was a very typical stereotype, I drive since I was 19. I have my own car!.

All of the questions was related to “choice”. No one really believed that Arab Muslims girls and women can really have their own choices!.

People were asking about veil, although I don’t wear veil. They were asking if I am forced “like others!” to wear veils in our countries.

I did not feel offended, I felt sorry.

It’s not just about media. It’s about forcing women’ to choose a specific lifestyle. No one want to admit that women’s’ faith, believes and thoughts. Is just her choices!

This experience was a great one to know how people think about others. To break the stereotypes ideas too.

It’s my first time being a book. It will not be the last. Papers don’t change. Readers do.

Students discuss their book (Pablo Zarate)

--

--

Laila Bashar Kloub
Reaction Playbook

MA Journalism and New Media student/ Jordan media institute.