EXCLUSIVE: Kurt Cobain speaks from the grave

With the 20th anniversary of his suicide approaching, the Nirvana frontman breaks his silence.

Mark Phillips
Read About It
Published in
4 min readFeb 5, 2014

--

ON April 8, 1994, an electrician carrying out routine maintenance at the Seattle house of Kurt Cobain and Courtney Love came across a gruesome sight. On the floor of an outer shed lay the body of Cobain. He had been dead for three days from a self-inflicted gunshot wound to the head.

Kurt Cobain left behind a suicide note, but has been silent for almost two decades. In that time, his legend has grown.

But today, with the assistance of a professional medium, we can bring you this exclusive interview from the afterlife with the late Nirvana front man:

Kurt – thanks for your time.

No problem. I’m not doing much else right now.

How are you doing these days?

As well as can be expected, you know. Life’s pretty quiet up here. The big man runs a tight operation: no booze, no drugs, no profanity. It’s worse than rehab.

So what do you think about all these impending 20th anniversary commemorations?

It sucks. I killed myself to get away from all this bullshit deification and iconography, spokesman of a generation crap. And now they’re portraying me as another Lennon or James Dean.

But when your death was one of those moments where everyone remembers where they were when they heard the news . . . ?

It’s 20 years ago, man. Get over it.

So what have you been doing for the last two decades?

As I said, it’s pretty quiet up here. At first I just wanted to be left on my own. Hendrix, Jim Morrison, Bon Scott, all these guys kept on knocking on my door asking me to jam with them. I had to hide under my bed sometimes. Last few years, I’ve been getting out a bit more, playing a bit of music with dudes like Jeff Buckley and Ian Curtis, doing a bit of painting.

Anything you regret about killing yourself?

Yeah, sure . . . lots of things. Most of all I regret leaving Frances Bean behind without a dad, in the hands of that bitch. The poor kid’s gonna make some therapist a fortune some day.

Talking about Courtney: is it true that you wrote all the songs on Live Through This?

No comment.

What will you do on the anniversary of your death?

It’ll just be another day. Get up at midday, have a cup of Joe, do some painting, listen to some Vaselines or Meat Puppets. Maybe see if Jeff wants to have a jam.

You and your music meant a lot to a lot of people. It defined an era.

Yeah, yeah . . . I just sang what I felt in my heart, ya know? I never wanted or intended to be anyone’s hero, or – God help me – spokesman.

Do you think Nirvana would still be together if you’d lived?

Probably not. Dave wanted to do his own thing, and I really admire what he’s achieved with the Foo Fighters. He’s a great talent. I feel a bit sorry for Krist, but what can you do . . . ?

So would you still be making music?

Maybe. But it’d probably sound a lot different. I was going to record with Michael Stipe. I would’ve liked to do some more acoustic stuff, maybe some alt-country. I’d be 46 now. You can’t go on making teenagers’ music forever.

What do you think of the music scene, post-Nirvana?

For a long time I despaired. Things went downhill almost as soon as I died. Grunge became a parody of itself, Pearl Jam became the mediocre heavy metal band they always threatened to be. When dance music – made by computers! – took over it was everything I’d been fighting against. It was like Nirvana had never happened.

Then there were all the imitators. I can’t remember them all, but there was some Aussie band, what were they called? silverchair! That’s right. Oh my God: Green Day. Limp Bizkit. Blink 182. Creed. Jee-sus! And then came all these crappy, formulaic record company products: Britney, Christina, the Spice Girls.

So there’s nothing you like?

There’s been bits and pieces from time to time that have partly restored my faith. First The Strokes coming along woke everyone up. And the White Stripes have created a paradigm-shift that reminds me of when punk crashed through in ’91 when we released Nevermind. Jack White is a genius. I’d love to be able to play with him.

I love that Aussie band . . . the Druids? The Drones. That guy, Gareth, I’m in awe! The poetry in his lyrics and the power in his music. Fantastic.

Can I ask you . . .

Hey man, I think I’ve given you enough of my time. I gotta go.

Just one last question . . . Kurt? . . . Kurt . . . ?

--

--

Mark Phillips
Read About It

Writer, journalist & communicator based in Melbourne, Australia. Author of Radio City: the First 30 Years of 3RRR-FM.