A letter, A smile on the face. Two souls connected.

Jishnu Vediyoor
Read An Year
2 min readFeb 23, 2016

--

Ok. Now, let me think when I got a letter last time. Hmm. I think it was somewhere around 15-16 years ago. Yeah. I was 12 that time. It was just been a few months after I moved from my village to another city. It was one of my best friend - who is from my village - wrote to me. A green paper with beautiful handwriting. It was his replay to my letter. As I didn't know his home address, I wrote it addressing his school. I'm sure that he must have got a huge surprise when that postman delivered that letter to his classroom. Oh, how many times I wished if I could see that expression on his face. I always tried to recreate that memory.

A strange man comes to the room and when the teacher moves away from the desk, everyone starts to talk. Suddenly teacher calls his name. “manikandan” he suddenly stands from your his seat. The Class suddenly gets a pin drop scilent. The whole class looks at him, then the teacher. The teacher walks towards him and deliver the letter. He would be shocked. A letter? For me? In a classroom. Then he will turns the envelope over and see my name. A smile on his face. Two soles connected.

I was so sad about moving from there. I felt like I thrown away my childhood and everything and everyone I know away. I don't have friends. I need to do a lot of things to feel normal. I need to make friends, I need to remember the new place names. Too much. I was so lonely. I didn't have a best friend. And i needed one. So i began to write letters. I wrote about the people, friends and experiences. I asked about my old village, school, friends and teachers he wrote back telling me about thr news from there.

It was my mom who told me to write letters. As a teacher she knew that I'm having these hard time with the change. One day when I was so sad and angry, she gave me a letter and told me to write. I think we wrote more than 15 letters. Then after three years, we stopped. I don't remember the reason. I guess the time and priorities.

Then today, you sent me a letter. I feel happy and sad. That reminds me how much I miss those letters. The Technology got updated. Now we can talk, see each other no matter where you are. You can sent emails and sms and those get delivered in a fraction of a second. But nothing makes you happy and loved like letters.

Thank you.

❤️

--

--

Jishnu Vediyoor
Read An Year

All about digital and rants about life. Owner at Artistory Media | Formerly at WWzDigital, Klip.in, Smursh, Saltmangotree, Indiavibes and Amvizone.