happy new year, dear hearts.

Tiffany Hopper
Read. Breathe. Grow.
4 min readJan 3, 2019

Hello Bibliophiles, Dreamers, Shakers, and Life Chasers! 2019 is upon us. 2018 was so full of endings and beginnings. And here I am, prepared to start anew! I have finished reading The Paris Wife and will be posting my thoughts THIS Sunday, January 6th. But I wanted to take a moment to check in with you all after another prolonged absence, to share some of my goals for the new year. But first, let’s start with a quick rundown of what has happened since I last wrote.

The biggest life event? I got MARRIED! Planning a wedding is no joke and when it’s followed immediately by the holiday season, you can’t blame me for being a little behind.

My wedding was an enchanting, literary inspired, vintage affair! I worked tirelessly to make sure that no detail was out of place and that we were all transported to another time and world, far from Oklahoma City. A wedding in the Irish country side or Scottish Highlands, maybe even a celebration in the Shire! The florals were dreamed up by me and executed with the help of my friends and family. The flower crown was inspired by the orange blossoms, Queen Victoria wore in her hair. The music was gentle, Irish and Scottish folk, with a bit of Howard Shore thrown in here and there. The rain, chilly air and cloudy skies helped seal the deal. And while the mud was a nuisance, everything was perfect. It all feels like a beautiful dream, but it really happened. And that’s what real magic is.

Here are some photos for your enjoyment, taken by Oklahoma photographer, Laura Vanderzee.

So, if you have any questions on how to design the perfect DIY wedding on a budget, you know who to call!

After the wedding, we went straight into our Lake Tahoe honeymoon, followed by the holidays! So, my hobbies fell by the wayside! But we’re back in business and determined to get to work this year!

With that being said, I’m making a commitment to you all! I will be posting an article on whichever book I’m exploring on the first Sunday of every month in 2019! If I’m able to post more throughout the month, I will. I refuse to limit myself to one book a month unnecessarily. But for those times in the year when busy gets the best of you and you stop doing the things you care about, I will commit to one post a month.

Along with other new years resolutions like being more organized, being more patient, being more grateful, eating fewer cupcakes, taking more vitamins, etc…I’m excited to start and continue this journey with you all!

I look forward to sharing The Paris Wife with you all this Sunday. This book tore me apart, stitched me back together and then ripped it all to hell time after time, but the journey was so worth it. Stay tuned!!

--

--