10 Mind-Blowing Facts that you Need to know

These are some facts that are so crazy some of them you wouldn’t believe are true!

Georgia Smart
Read or Die!
2 min readMar 17, 2024

--

Photo by Steinar Engeland on Unsplash

When online I came across some of these and I haven’t ever forgotten them, they truly stay in your brain for a while. So here they are:

  1. A single cloud weights around 1 million tonnes – Is this not crazy? I thought that clouds weigh nothing as they are just air that’s condensed, it must be from holding up rainwater through precipitation.
  2. The speed of Earth’s rotation is changing -This could mean in the future the world will be different, it has so many different possibilities with negative connotations
  3. Giraffes are 300% more likely to be struck by lightning than people – I never thought of this but it’s right, you’re advised in a thunderstorm to stay low to the ground and get inside, but how tall are giraffes and they usually are in an open space. So the perfect target for lightening!
  4. Identical twins don’t Have the same fingerprint -So even if you have an identical twin committing a crime can have its consequences And blaming it on your identical twin won’t work out well!
  5. The fear of long words is called hippopotomonstrosesquippedali- Yes, this is actually true and this itself could scare someone
  6. The sun produces a sound that we can’t hear –This is a high-pitched sound that is heard throughout the universe but we on Earth can not hear it!
  7. You can die from laughter – intense laughter can cause a heart attack or suffocation, as sometimes when we laugh I feel I’m straining my lungs and struggle to breathe, but I thought you could always stop yourself before going too far.
  8. Ants don’t have lungs – they breathe through spiracles which are different openings on their body! I always thought every living animal had a lung!
  9. Per year, wind turbines kill between. 10,000- 100,000 birds in the UK – This is more of a sad fact, I love all animals and especially birds as I used to feed garden birds in my grandad’s garden.
  10. Bacteria on your skin are the reason you itch – some bacteria can cause a chemical to be released which activates a protein in the muscle causing the itchy sensation.

Let me know if you have any more crazy facts! I hope these stick with you and they are great to tell people!

Thank you for reading :)

Photo by Jeremiah Del Mar on Unsplash

--

--

Georgia Smart
Read or Die!

Writing about my personal growth, writing tips, motivation and living a healthy lifestyle :)