A strange tale of a moth, a man and his trousers.

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2023
A large moth Photo by Mikkel Frimer-Rasmussen on Unsplash

A strange memory drifted into my rather vacant mind a few minutes ago. So, I thought I would make a short post out of it.

Many years ago, when lived and worked in London, my journey to the Soho district was taken by bus and tube (underground, subway). The final part being on the tube.

Now regular travellers in London’s rush hour will be familiar with the rather cramped conditions passengers have to endure.

The occasion I am going to write about was no exception, standing room only.

But there was one extra non-human passenger on that particular day.

A rather large hairy moth was flitting around the carriage. As most of the travellers were English, everybody did their best to pretend it was not there.

But eyes were fixed upon the little aviator, at least mine were.

I watched it land on the trouser turn up of a gentleman standing close to me. I then saw it crawl up the inside of the trouser leg.

This happened just before my stop, however the moth man, as I will call him, also got off there.

I followed him along the platform and up the escalators. While he walked, he was wildly kicking his leg as if he was having some sort of spasm. Obviously, the moth was flying around inside the leg of his trousers and causing him some discomfort.

I lost sight of him at the top of the escalator.

I often wondered what happened to that moth.

--

--