A Surprise visit caused chaos yesterday.

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readMay 22, 2023
a surprised looking child Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

I must apologise for being a bit tardy in reading and responding today. The reason for this tardiness was an incident that occurred yesterday, May 21st.

The incident was a surprise visit from my stepdaughter and her three children. They came bounding in, wishing me a happy birthday. It was a surprise visit on two levels. We didn’t know they were coming and yesterday wasn’t my birthday. My birthday is today, May 22nd.

They were convinced I had got it wrong, and I needed my wife to confirm I was not into my dotage yet and my birthday was on May 22nd.

Despite this mix-up, we had a great couple of hours drinking coffee and cola.

However, this impromptu meeting meant the various gardening chores scheduled for yesterday, had to be postponed until today. (It didn’t take much persuasion for me to agree to this temporary postponement.) But they had to be carried out today.

I did manage to get a few responses in before the garden called. Once I completed almost all of the chores, (I never complete them) lunch called.

Despite this mix-up, we had a great couple of hours drinking coffee and cola.

However, this impromptu meeting meant the various gardening chores scheduled for yesterday had to be postponed until today. (It didn’t take much persuasion for me to agree to this temporary postponement.) But they had to be carried out today.

I did manage to get a few responses in before the garden called. Once I completed almost all the chores (I never complete them all), lunch called.

My wife had bought me a special treat, Jellied eels. (I know, don’t go on.)

After lunch, some light shopping, coffee in the local Café Nero and home.

Once I have posted this pathetic excuse for an apology, I am going to open a bottle of Chablis Premier Cru, a birthday present from my stepdaughter, to go with our dinner.

We may finish the evening with a small glass of rare old French brandy, a birthday present from my wife. (For the record, the Chablis may not survive the night, but the brandy will last until the end of summer.) 😎

So, I would like to wish you all a very good afternoon, good evening, good night, sweet dreams or good morning, depending on where you are.

See you all tomorrow. 😍

Join Medium by using my referral link.

More from me.

Do you think I should be ashamed of what I did?

How I got free drinks and snacks courtesy of the Sheriff’s office.

When the Queen met my aunt Lil.

--

--