Am I Crazy for Wanting to Transport Only by Bicycle?

An article by me, complaining about missing my bicycle while also promoting my hometown.

Olga Panagiotopoulou
Read or Die!
4 min readFeb 28, 2024

--

Photo by Great Big Canvas

I grew up in a small town in Greece named Mesolonghi, known for its amazing lagoon, beautiful pelades (little houses built upon the lagoon, traditional fishermen houses), gorgeous sunsets, and of course, its cyclists.

Photo by https://www.discovergreece.com/
Photo by https://www.discovergreece.com

We all cycled there, regardless of age or profession.

I used to go to school and participate in all my activities by bike, even in winter. During summer, I would cycle to the sea, swim, and then cycle back (I was so close to a triathlon), and I fell in love with doing so.

Photo by https://www.discovergreece.com

Then I grew up and went to study in the second-biggest city of Greece, Thessaloniki.

Thessaloniki is a truly magical place, as beautiful and warm as a huge home.

Here in Greece, we say “We will always have Thessaloniki,” as they say in the film Casablanca, “We will always have Paris.”

But, there is a big “but” here; like in all big cities (at least in Greece), cycling for transportation is never a good idea.

To be more specific, it’s a really bad idea, almost like a suicide mission.

Photo by Leandros Papakarmezis on Unsplash

So, I didn’t cycle there. I was looking forward to going back to my hometown and riding my precious bicycle for as long as I would stay.

Now I live in the capital of Greece, Athens, and if Thessaloniki was a really bad place to ride a bike, Athens is X100 worse.

So I don’t ride a bicycle here either.

Photo by David Tip on Unsplash

And what does this have to do with us, Olga?

Oh, don’t be like that. Should everything be about you?

Well, this is my blog, and this article is for me, complaining about missing my bicycle while also promoting my hometown to prospective travelers.

So, to continue with my thoughts, I am really contemplating a lot to decide where my permanent future house will be based on where I could go everywhere by cycle.

But at the same time, I want to have a fun, well-paid job, so unfortunately, my hometown is not an option.

Am I crazy to base such an important decision on my love for bicycles?

Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

I don’t know. I am a bit confused. I just finished a semester assignment that took me years to write, so I am very tired and a little irritated. Maybe tomorrow I will be more sane — maybe not.

One more assignment to go, and one more day missing my beautiful bicycle.

What about you? How is life lately?

After I finish the last assignment, I promise to come back and answer everyone’s comments and also read everyone’s work.

I missed you guys! Talk to you soon!

If you’ve reached the end, thank you! Your support means a lot. Feel free to drop a comment — let’s chit-chat about anything you wish! :)

--

--