An Apologetic Appreciation

KarthikxLucky
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2024

You should do this too!

I am writing the most personal letter I have ever written:

To whom, you ask?

To myself.

Both my past and future selves.

I had nothing to do, nothing to write about.

And also, the slow-paced progress is NOT helping either.

One of my mentors told me:

If you want to get better at writing, keep writing.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

So, I thought of this idea. I know,

This feels a little weird, but there are two reasons I want you to do this too:

1. To See how far you have come.

2. To see how far you can go.

The Title “An Apologetic Appreciation.

Apology to the future self,

For anything you have done WRONG,

Appreciation to the past self,

For everything you have done RIGHT.

I am going to keep this letter hidden and read it,

Maybe a decade later?

To see how far I have come and also

How much I have learned along the journey.

Writing down the goals and dreams you want to achieve is good.

BUT!

Writing down every mistake you made and

Every lesson you have learned across the journey is better.

It Not only keeps you humble,

But it also allows you to appreciate yourself a little bit more.

Remember when I said,

P.S.: Emphasizing the appreciation part is a great way of doing this.

(Just like I did above by using more sentences to describe the past than the future.)

When nobody appreciates you, you should.

When everybody talks sh*t about you, you should NOT.

Coz, you’re the only one you gotta prove your worth to.

If you think you are Nothing, maybe you are.

But if you think you can be something, you can be ANYTHING.

Thanks for reading! Good Luck.

If you like what you read, consider buying me a Cup of Chai here. I’d appreciate it. (The Medium Partnership Program is yet to come to India, so this is the only method I can try to earn any money online.)

Until next time, PEACE!!

--

--

KarthikxLucky
Read or Die!

Sharing the Lessons I Learned on Self-Improvement, Productivity, and Mental Health in my newsletter: https://lessons-to-self.beehiiv.com/subscribe