Are You Missing The ‘Mosquitoes of Medium’(Clap and Runners/Bots)?

ALEX KIRKLAND
Read or Die!
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2024

--

Summer is right around the corner and mosquitoes are starting to come out of the woodwork…unfortunately. We can prepare for them as much as we can — citronella candles, lemongrass plants, purple Martin houses, smoke, bug spray, etc., but they still will manage to somehow leave us with those annoying, itchy-ass bites.

Medium has its own share of mosquitoes, yet they come in the form of bots, AI writers and commenters, and ‘clap and runners.’ They can be annoooyyyyyyinngggg!

As of typing this, I have unfortunately seen two comments recently with “What’s your WhatsApp?” But that hasn’t really been the case since the beginning of May. I have noticed a HUGE drop in bot and AI activity, which has been amazing.

Yesterday I woke up with this…

It’s the first time I’ve had the 99+ for my notifications. That’s saying something.

But you know the awesome thing about it? I scrolled down, all the way through them, and saw no nefarious activity. It was all friends and people I knew

--

--

ALEX KIRKLAND
Read or Die!

Author of "Wolves of Hemp Street" (pen name: Floyd Wooderson) | Cervical Vertigo & Panic Attack Sufferer | NOT A.I. | Real Person w/ real articles