Bentley: The Greatest Teacher I’ve Ever Had

I Was Pissed When I Found Out

Johnny Poitras
Read or Die!

--

My Sisters Pictures of Bentley When He Was a Pup ©Johnny Poitras

This story starts off with me being a Freshman in high school. I was at one of my friend's houses and we were sledding down their hill. It had to be sometime in the middle of the winter.

When I walked back to the top of the hill I received a text message from my family.

They told me that we got a dog. Now most people would be instantly so excited and ecstatic, but no not me.

I was pissed. I was so angry. I was complaining to my friends about it and couldn’t believe my family just went and got a dog. Especially without me even knowing about it.

I came to find out later we adopted a yellow lab, and my sister was debating between two names for him. Buddy, or Bentley.

She decided on Bentley.

My Sisters Pictures of Bentley When He Was a Pup ©Johnny Poitras

First 6 Months Of Bentley Living Here

The first six months of living with Bentley were quite a blur. What I do know is that I apparently hated him, and didn’t want anything to do with him.

--

--

Johnny Poitras
Read or Die!

I am a school counselor in MA where I primarily focus on supporting students mental health. I am a student of life wanting to learn about everything I can!