Two Rolls-Royce Sedans, a Cadillac Eldorado coupe, two box trucks, and a full-size van, all used as household storage units. Photo by the author.

Cycling, Photography, and Cars

Cars as Newfangled Storage Units

Two Rolls-Royces and a Cadillac Eldorado serve a second purpose

Randy Runtsch
3 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Cycling and photography are two of my favorite lifelong pursuits. I admire old cars, too. Whenever I can combine three interests into one, I feel like I have won a round of the game show Jeopardy.

I am approaching the end of a month-long visit to Atlanta, Georgia. The metropolis is too large for me, with a population approaching seven million and endless miles of urban sprawl.

But I will get by.

A walk in Decatur Cemetery is like a trip into the past. Photo by the author.

Exercise and adventure fill several hours of most days. I ride my bicycle all over the city or visit nearby parks and the historic Decatur Cemetery on foot. I photograph birds, squirrels, buildings, cars, and whatever else catches my eye.

Dr. Bernard and his 1928 Rolls-Royce Silver Ghost in Rochester, Minnesota. Photo by the author.

Two years ago, I spotted a hulking green vintage automobile in the parking lot of a grocery store in my city. As a man approached the car, I asked…

--

--

Randy Runtsch

Writer | Photographer | Outdoor Lover | Adventure Cyclist | Business Owner | Data Analyst | Software Developer