Chronic Pain Is Beginning to Affect My Mood

And it’s time to get over it

Julia A. Keirns
Read or Die!

--

Photo by Kinga Howard on Unsplash

I think my body has hurt almost my whole life but I never let it bother me much. I still worked full-time and pushed through the pain.

When I was nine I fell off the deck of a swimming pool and hurt my left leg. When I was thirteen I fell out of a door where the steps had been removed and tore ligaments in my left ankle. When I was sixteen I hurt my lower back in an accident and couldn’t walk for three weeks. And when I was eighteen, I got whiplash in a car accident and tore three discs in my neck. Over the years, all of these things caused aches and pain and muscle spasms.

I feel like most people would have applied for disability at that point, but not me. I was able to work, especially since I was always a secretary or an office assistant. I sat at a desk in a comfortable chair and did paperwork, computer work, and answered telephones. Although, paperwork, computer work, and talking on the phone always made my neck hurt.

I am beginning to follow after my mother and am also getting arthritis in my hands which affects my typing and writing.

Then — a series of leg injuries, including three broken bones and multiple surgeries, have left me with constant pain and a significant limp. Walking is now a struggle. When I do walk…

--

--

Julia A. Keirns
Read or Die!

Currently living in an RV full time and traveling across North America. The goal is simply to write about it. Editor of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and ROD.