CONSTRUCTIVE FEEDBACK

Dear Mr. Stubblebine

An open letter to the CEO of Medium

Adrian CDTPPW
Read or Die!
Published in
3 min readAug 18, 2023

--

Image by Katamaheen from Pixabay

First of all, I want to thank you for the new changes in the monetization policy.

For a long time, most of us felt that writing on Medium was a low-reward chore. We hustled every day, neglecting our passions and selling ourselves for the few daily cents we got in exchange for the long hours of writing we put in.

No wonder there were so many people feeling burned out before. I too have lost a few friends who left Medium for the futility of all. I too have considered leaving Medium at some point.

But now I feel rejuvenated. Thanks to the new monetization policies, I spend less time writing just for money and more time writing what I like, more time making a passion out of my writing, and more time discovering the platform itself.

That being said, I don’t want to sound ungrateful, but there are many more improvements that can be made. Some of them are unrelated to the monetary aspect of this platform, yet they are still important nonetheless.

Therefore, without further delay, here are my humble suggestions:

[1] Remove the “somebody else has also highlighted” notifications

--

--

Adrian CDTPPW
Read or Die!

Boost Nominator. Stalking the Medium feed. Good stories scouter. Hammock "Guru." Writing down his silly musings. Owner of Read or Die & Read or Die - HQ.