Dev Cries: The Final Part

Will Dev Find His Answers??

KarthikxLucky
Read or Die!
3 min readMay 17, 2024

--

“Dear Dev,
I hope you are doing fine.
I am sorry for how I acted earlier.
I never thought I’d ever say this to you
But my stupid brother insisted I do,
So that I do not have any regrets,
I am ill,
Doctors said there is a 40-60% chance of surviving,
That too, if we find a donor with right specifications,
You always say right : Always expect the worst
So that your expectations don’t hurt you.
I expected the worst.
But guess what?? I survived!!

Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

I was afraid to leave you behind with only a letter,
So I came to meet you like this,
To tell you that I love you too.
I know you find it hard to forgive me,
but I am sorry for not telling you early.”

Raj says

“What happened to her? Where is she?” asks Dev,
(Despite doubting the worst might have already happened.)
“She met with a flight accident,
while coming back home,
From the hospital after treatment,” Raj explains,
Tears streamed down his face,
Thinking about how excited his sister was to meet Dev,
The man, whom even he finds kind, lovely, and wonderful,
“I wish you were here like you said, sister,
I really do,” bawls Raj.

Dev understands

“Thank you, Raj, hugs Dev,
For coming all the way here to tell me,
Fate works in ways we can never comprehend,
One moment you are so happy,
Only to see it get taken away in the next,
Through many failures in my career,
I have come to terms that,
not everything happens as we wish,
So we must live with what we have,
Instead of thinking about what we don’t,” Dev walks.

“He took it better than I expected,” Raj assumes,
“I guess it has been too long to still be sad about.”
“Let me drop you off,” suggests Raj,
“It’s alright. I live down the street,” Dev refuses,politely.

Dev Cries,again

“Welcome home,dear,” Dev’s mother greets,
“How did the day go,child?,” his father asks.
“I am fine,” Dev says weakly,

As that’s all he could muster.

He goes up the stairs to his room, or so he thought when,
Every inch of his body gives up,

Falling to his knees,
Crying his heart out, once again.

Photo by Egor Vikhrev on Unsplash

You never know how much you love someone until they’re gone.

A story of love,sorrow, grief, and innocence.

Here’s to hoping that Dev and Devi would meet again under new circumstances and live a Happy Life

(Sad Music’s still playing in my ear 😭)

Thanks for reading. Good Luck!!

Until Next Time, PEACE!!

--

--

KarthikxLucky
Read or Die!

Sharing the Lessons I Learned on Self-Improvement, Productivity, and Mental Health in my newsletter: https://lessons-to-self.beehiiv.com/subscribe