Do You Shout or Scream When You’re Angry?

How to deal with the inability to get angry

Gabriella H.
Read or Die!

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

“You’re a f-ing idiot! I hate youuuuuuuu, Chris!”

She was yelling her head off, her voice cutting through my thin walls.

I’m left wondering what the husband did this time to set her off.

But more importantly, I’m left wondering what it must feel like to drain that much emotion out of your system.

I both hate and admire her.

You see, I’ve always been a good girl. I’ve played by the rules, followed every instruction down to the letter. I keep my viewpoints, concerns, wants, and needs locked up tight, hoping they’ll eventually vanish into thin air.

Anything is preferable than inconveniencing others with my emotions.

The Consequences of Good Behavior

For every one person who shouts too loudly, there are at least twenty who have lost their voices.

Raise your hand if you’ve been a goody two-shoes your whole life, never daring to talk back to your folks and always toeing the line!

If you were amongst the most well-behaved kids, if you never found yourself in the principal’s office, if you always turned in your assignments on time…

--

--

Gabriella H.
Read or Die!

I’m always curious, always looking for something new to learn, using life as a learning canvas.