Free Verse Poem

Energy Lives On

Absent Souls

Sue Banerji
Read or Die!
Published in
1 min readJan 26, 2024

--

Photo by Peter Olexa on Unsplash

Not really afraid
of leaving this world
or anxious to stumble upon another.

I do remain skeptical,
however, of these
misplaced and absent
souls among us.

Alive, happy, some unhappy
abandoned
they walk beyond
the Saguaro pride and
shadows of howling moon.

They exist
like the memory of a old demented man
living freely but mostly in mental chain
like the still pictures in a movie
with no lights or music
and with a caption-
“This video has no sound.”

I embrace them
I can’t leave them alone!

© 2024 Sue Banerji. All rights reserved.

Pre and Post Poem thoughts: This poem is dedicated to my beautiful 26 years young nephew, who took his life couple of years ago..He lives on..

~Thank you to Adrian CDTPPW and Read or Die! publication for letting my poetry find a voice. And to you, our readers — my gratitude for reading my words. Blessings.~

--

--

Sue Banerji
Read or Die!

"Be kind. You never know where n how will you end up." Me . A healthcare professional believing that readers n writers have a symbiotic relationship!