Have our cats bonded? (Part 2)

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2023
Two cats fighting. Authors picture

This is a quick follow up to my article “Have our cats bonded?”

I told you we had recently acquired a male kitten as a companion for our older female cat, Issy.

We hoped Issy would welcome a new and lively friend.

As you can see from the picture above, she didn’t

So, have things changed?

It looks like our cats are sharing a bowl. They are not.

The above picture gives the impression they are now sharing a food bowl.

It is the wrong impression.

Issy has always been a slow eater. Fella, the male, is a hoover. And he is always hungry. Issy takes her time eating so, they eat in separate rooms. This stops Fella from diving into Issy’s bowl before she finishes.

Issy never finishes her meal. Once we are sure she eaten enough, we open the door and let Fella in. He makes a beeline for Issy’s bowl.

The picture shows Fella cleaning the bowl while Issy looks.

I cannot say they have bonded. I think there is an air of slightly hostile tolerance.

Happy days.

Join Medium by using my referral link.

More from me.

Have our cats bonded?

We took in a trans cat.

Do you think I should be ashamed of what I did?

--

--