How I learned to write about nothing.

It took me a long time to learn.

barry robinson
Read or Die!

--

Blank pages. Photo by Mike Tinnion on Unsplash

I was inspired to write this article by a comment left by Christine Morris Ph.D. on my article How I Avoided Manual Labour for Most of My Life.

Christine left the comment “You have a great talent for writing about nothing.”

She is right. I do seem to be able to write about nothing. 😂

And below is the article I wrote in February 2023 that started it all.

What can I write about?

I am sure many of you wake up with this question on your mind, and I am sure most of you have a system to overcome your block. Unfortunately, I do not have a system to break my writer’s block. Well, I didn’t have one until today.

I have read many books on how to overcome writer’s block. Many of them tell me I should write about something I am an expert on.

I know quite a lot about the printing industry, but not enough to make it interesting to people.

I quite like strumming my guitar, but I could not call myself a guitarist. I can kick a football, but that doesn’t make me a footballer.

Other books tell me to write about something I am passionate about. I am passionate about some things, but I am not going to write about these…

--

--