ToT/Writing/Challenge/Prompt

How Tolerant Are You?

Not as tolerant as I use to be, but still pretty darn tolerant!

--

Photo by Landon Martin on Unsplash

Karen Schwartz wants to know:

1. Would you pay 25% extra to fly on a child-free airplane to your destination or opt for a 25% discount to fly on a plane with young families with infants?

The distance to my destination may be a factor as to my choice. But my first impulse choice is 25% discount to fly on a plane with young families with infants.

2. “Today” is your day to let a store customer cut in front of you in line. Do you choose the senior with a full cart or a teenager with a carton of milk, a loaf of bread, and a package of cheese?

The Senior in hopes that the teenager is so kind to let me, his Senior, go on ahead of him/her, too.

3. You’re sitting in the doctor’s office, and a waiting patient listens to music (not your genre) on speaker. Do you get them to take it off speaker or sit and do nothing?

I ask the receptionist to please request the patient to take his/her music off speaker.

4. You go to a restaurant and order the special displayed on their window poster, only to be charged substantially more at the end of the meal and told the poster is old. Do you refuse to pay the bill’s inflated rate, or do you pay without argument?

I refuse to pay the bill’s inflated rate. First, I would request to speak with Manager. Second, he/she would be shown what I have on my phone. It would be the picture of the restaurant, the ad poster, my bill, and keyed in other documentation regarding the issue, i.e , manager’s name, waitress/waiter name, and other dining customer’s at this given time along with their contact info. Third, the manager would be referred to a note on my phone about this issue regarding a Small Claims Court filing to be my next step if not immediately resolved.

The matter resolved by my dining meal expense to be as advertised on its poster. If not, the manager and I would have our next meeting in Small Claims Court.

Hopefully, the matter gets immediately resolved.

5. You go to a movie, and the child behind you keeps asking his mom to explain what’s happening. Would you tell them to shut up, or do you keep quiet?

I would move to another seating area of the movie theater.

6. You have a bird’s nest outside your window, waking you up early every morning. Do you remove it or leave it?

I would leave it alone so not to disturb the mother, babies and their home.

7. You see a nude bather at the clothed beach in plain view of families with children. Do you say something or not?

I would say something since this is a clothed public beach. Maybe they did not know it was not their type of beach. If this did not work, I would speak to the Lifeguard.

8. You’re on public transit with a man whose splayed legs infringe on your space. Do you claim your space or do nothing?

I claim my space.

9. Your neighbour has his dog’s poop all over his lawn. Do you call the bylaw officer to complain (or whoever is in charge of this in your country), or do you say nothing, leaving their sleeping dog’s poop to lie?

I would speak with my neighbor about this. If this did not help, my next step would be to my city/town council for their advice on how to handle the neighboring situation.

10. You bought a meal at the local drive-through, and two blocks away, you realize the restaurant still owed you a burger. Do you go back or take the loss?

I go back and get the rest of my order.

Thanks for reading my ToT stories. Karen, you are really super with coming up for these questions. I need to find more of your ToT prompts and answer them. This ToT Prompt was fun answering and quite revealing about myself. Lol

You will find below super duper writers whose stories have a wide range of reading interests.

Randy Pulley, Michael Paland, Karen Schwartz, Brian Dickens Barrabee, Harry Hogg, Jessica Morgan, Gary L Ellis, Adrian CDTPPW, Bruce Coulter, Mary Morton, Nancy Oglesby, John Hansen

--

--

Deborah Joyce Goodwin (Red:The-Lady In Blue)
Read or Die!

Retired but active in some of the most unpredictable moments among many unexpected people. Ready to write about yesterdays and todays with hopes for tomorrows.