I Competed Against Simone Biles And Won. Here Is My Biggest Lesson

A real blink-and-miss-it race against the GOAT

Okwywrites
Read or Die!
3 min readAug 13, 2024

--

A black female feminist on a brown board. Author’s Design on Canva.
A black female gymnast on a brown board. Author’s Design on Canva.

Two weeks ago, at the height of the Olympics, I was juggling everyday life and motherhood and feeling defeated a lot. The vision was not aligning with goals and goals were not giving desired results.

So while Simone Biles was breaking her records, setting new records, and making the Olympics create new categories because she’s just that awesome, I was breaking my records in my life:

First, Grammarly sent me a message, “Where have you been? You just broke your 75-day writing streak. Did you get locked out of your account?”

What?! In almost 20 years, I don’t recall not writing for a week. But there it was. That also made me realize that I was on a break, not just a break from writing, but from life.

Next came the phone calls and the messages. I ignored everyone. I couldn’t be bothered.

For the first time in my adult life, I was on a break from life and felt no guilt about it. I was content to sit in front of a screen, not work out, and just cheer on Simone Biles in all her fit glory! (Damn! That girl makes me so happy to be a black woman).

While cheering on Simone Biles and giving her all her deserved flowers, I came across a post online where someone asked if there was any place you are better than the GOAT of gymnastics. I was excited to think of a category that I have triumphed against Simone Biles — Ready for it?:

Speaking Igbo Language!

No way on this planet Simone can speak my language better than I do. So, take that, Simone Biles. You can never!!!

Sing it with me, people:

I win! I win! I win! Simone, you lost. You lost this category!!!

A black female gymnast in bright yellow attire about to leap from a brown board. Author’s Design on Canva.

But, back to business folks because, sadly, all good things must come to an end. My life on life on cruise-mode has come to an end as of today. Rather than regret, I feel a little sad that I cannot rewind and press refresh.

I love writing too much to be gone forever which is why, encouraged by one of the greatest wing women I have ever met on Medium: Ronke Babajide, I am terrified to announce the launch of my Medium Publication #Africanwomenrise.

Yeah, you heard that right — the #Africanwomenrise publication is Live. This publication is where I hope African women redefine feminism through an African lens, showcasing diverse voices and perspectives while building up women from all works of life

I want to emphasize that I am not excited to announce this publication. I am terrified of it. I am terrified to fail. I am terrified that this is another place where the vision will not align with the goals and the goals will not give desired results.

I am also terrified that by the next time, Simone Biles will be setting and breaking new Olympic records, I will be taking another unplanned break, breaking another Grammarly streak, and not exercising all while regretting that once again, I am struggling at adulting.

I look forward to catching up on all my favourite writers starting with Yana Bostongirl who nearly gave me a heart attack with the unrelenting pace of my notifications bringing me news of newly published works.

Please follow my publication as a reader and if you are an African, I would love to have you as a writer.

Thank you for hearing me out. It is good to be back!

Have you subscribed to my email list? Please do! I would also appreciate a cup of coffee.

--

--

Okwywrites
Read or Die!

Non-quitter. Writer. Speaker. Too tired for bullshit. Say Hi