MOVIES THAT THREW ME

I Find Myself at a Philosophical Crossroads…

If this is a journey to find myself, I will find myself more lost than when I started.

Sweet Honeylu
Read or Die!

--

A friend link for a friend. Enjoy

Woman in the woods apporaching a fork in the path.
Photo by Einar Storsul on Unsplash

Am I a nihilist?

Am I a realist?

Am I a naive optimist?

I honestly don’t know the answer to these questions.

What am I? I, robot?

I really don’t know what I am anymore. I really don’t know what my outlook on life is.

I know who I’m going to vote for in the coming elections but every once in a while, I find myself rooting for the asteroid to come and restart life on this planet.

Photo by SpaceX on Unsplash

“Asteroid 2024”

Now, there’s a hopeful slogan for you. Sure to make you a popular dinner guest and make you the life of the party 🎉.

I sometimes see the human species as a net negative for life on this planet. For, what are we contributing to the well being of climates, ecosystems and species? How, the most intelligent and capable species on this planet, have we used our stewardship? Everyday, Nature is rebelling and revolting against us and trying to rid itself of our pestilence. We are a menace. Various Animal species are letting us know that they are tired of our encroachment into their habitats. I read stories of sea otters stealing surfboards from vacationing surfers, and I just laugh. I hear of pods of orca whales teaching other pods to attack and flip over small boats, I clap. I see videos of a momma walrus attacking and deflating a Russian motorized dingy before they can lower it into the water, I cheer! I want to curse and swear at the goddamned fools who get out of their vehicles to take selfies next to bison at Yellowstone national park and I hope they get attacked. My heart soars when I hear that another bullfighter in Spain was gored to death by a traumatized and tortured bull, I shout,

A bull stands in a bullfighting ring
Photo by Agnès Maillard on Unsplash

“Hurray! Hurray, for the bull!!!”

Same goes for the run of the bulls through the streets of Pamplona.

And yet…. Is there hope for the human species? Is there hope for this world with us in it?

Maybe it’s me…maybe I’m the crazy one. Nothing would surprise me anymore.

Save the planet….whenever I’ve read that bumper sticker I’ve had to laugh. Save the planet…huh…what for? From what? From ourselves? -Toorop Babylon AD

Poster for movie Babylon AD
Screenshot from Rotten Tomatoes

These are the latest words I’ve Heard spoken recently that gripped me. And from the most unlikely of sources…a Vin Diesel movie.

I will readily admit that the majority of movies he’s starred in are crap. Mainly, I think because Vin comes across as taking himself way too seriously as an actor and doesn’t seem to have learned much in the way of getting into character. He’s like a more unlikeable version of Tom Cruz…if that’s even possible.

The movie is Babylon AD.

His character…or should I say, his caricature is a mercenary who lives by his own rules, and is living a life of drudgery in some bombed out looking shit hole in Russia.

The entire world looks as if it has gone through World War 3. There’s high tech everywhere but everyone lives like they’re in a Blade Runner dystopia. Nuclear weapons Radius blasts pockmark entire continents leaving huge pockets of radiation making travel perilous.

He’s violently kidnapped by Russian high command and warlord, Gorsky , who tasks him with bringing a girl safely out of a convent in Mongolia to United States. Ironically, he’s banished from ever entering the United States so he’s given a new identity that he must inject into his neck because; why not? It’s futuristic and they haven’t figured out that there are more better ways of doing things so yeah, inject your identification into your neck.

Throughout the entire time they are traveling, they are under audio and visual surveillance by multiple factions that either want the girl he’s delivering or taking Toorop out. Seems he’s well known and has made many enemies.

The fighting sequences weren’t as bad as a Steven Segal flick, but they were trying their damndest with this one. With a slew of campy fight scenes, unrealistic shoot out scenarios, exploding a high tech attack drone with a single hand gun while flipping backwards on a futuristic snowmobile, it turns out that our “package” has a psychic ability to detect bombs ready to go off, and can manipulate weapons systems. So, is she a secret weapon with the gift of foresight? A messianic figure?

I don’t think the writers even know. Something tells me they drifted away from the original source material. The sacred texts are always the first to go in these stories. Sad, really.

A woman chaotically shaking her head back and forth.
Photo by Taylor Deas-Melesh on Unsplash

You ever see a movie so bad that you know that the original material from which it was based had to be good? You almost have to be delusional for your brain to automatically fill in the gaps and holes in this story.

There’s only so much fake grunting and groaning I can take from Vin Diesel. Yikes!

I find myself in the realm of a hopeful nihilist if there is such a thing.

You have to read between the terrible lines to get the gems from this terrible disjointed piece of end of the world dystopian fan fiction.

Kind of like this article.

Thanks for reading🌺

You can follow me on Twitter, Threads, TikTok, Reddit, Post, Tribel, Bluesky, Counter Social, Substack, Spoutible, Pinterest

Please consider supporting me over at Buy Me Coffee or support me on Kofi. Get articles sent directly to your inbox by clicking on the green color envelope on my profile.

Check out my other movie review: Mr Nobody

--

--

Sweet Honeylu
Read or Die!

I love writing stories and scathing commentary on daily events. Snark is my love language. Will snark for food.