I Forbade My Teenager From Getting Her Nails Done

I’ll now end up caving when she wants something else!

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Read or Die!

--

Photo by allison christine on Unsplash

My 15-year-old daughter, Sivakami, wanted to get her nails done after her exams got over. She wanted to get acrylic extensions and have them painted, the works.

I forbade it.

I’m a dentist and I don’t wear rings, which are further up the fingers than nails are. Still, rings on fingers have been proven to cause more cross-contamination than bare hands.

Just imagine how many more bacteria could get lodged under fingernails.

To my surprise, Sivakami raised Cain.

Sivakami said that she wasn’t asking for a tattoo or a belly piercing. All she wanted was to get her nails done. It didn’t entail any blood or needles.

How could I possibly say no?

For someone who is usually smart, Sivakami was pigheaded about this “getting her nails done” business.

Sivakami had heard from a friend that it was cool. They could flutter their fingers and feel fashionable.

She wanted to get her nails done (in the company of this friend) even if I didn’t like the idea of long fingernails on my daughter.

--

--

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Read or Die!

I don’t just create smiles, I inspire them! Dentist, mom—Jamshedpur, India.