I Received a Massive Inheritance…

And I really wish I hadn’t

Gabriella H.
Read or Die!

--

A man offers a heavy bag to an anxious-looking woman in an alley
Author’s image created with DALL-E

“And the child will get everything!”

As a child, I had no idea they meant more than just the family tiny piggy bank.

I didn’t know what I was getting. Little did I know, this ‘inheritance’ came with a generous side of accumulated interest that no one bothered to mention.

How Much Did I Get?

Lots, and lots, and lots of… self-hatred.

But before you roll your eyes into another dimension, hear me out. (Or read me out)

Self-hatred is practically a rite of passage. We all have those days where we feel like the worst person ever, wondering why the universe hasn’t just cut off our oxygen supply already.

There’s not a single person out there who has never questioned their own worth at some point.

Obviously, self-hatred is also on a spectrum. And anxious people are typically gold medalist in this game that no one ever wants to win. We’re high-functioning self-haters.

This delightful trait breeds rock-bottom self-confidence and a constant expectation of impending doom.

Anxious people can find a reason to beat themselves up over anything. And, of course, if we’re so terrible, only terrible…

--

--

Gabriella H.
Read or Die!

I’m always curious, always looking for something new to learn, using life as a learning canvas.