Injured On The Football Battle Field

My body’s battle and mum’s support

LARO ✨✨
Read or Die!
2 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

https://www.bing.com/images/create

Authors note: Football — I refer to the global sport played with a round ball and feet, not American football. Just avoiding any confusion between touchdown and goalpost!

When we talk about the benefits of sports, we often overlook the potential risks and injuries that come with it.

As someone who has played non--professional football for years, I can attest to the physical toll it can take on the body. It’s hard to recall a game where I wasn’t left bruised and battered, with kicks to my legs, shins, ankles, and even my nose.

Picture this: It was a county cup final match, and I was so geared up for it. Eager on the bus, chatting and laughing, on the way to the game. I could not wait to get on the pitch and start the game.

We all warmed up on the side. Teammates high-fived each other. We flipped the coin and selected the pitch side we would play to.

Then, the match began. A long ball was hit across the field five minutes into the game. The ball bounced on the floor, and I bent down to head the ball as it came up.

And… as I did this, a player swung to kick the ball. I got to the ball first, and yes, you guessed it, he got my face.

The impact…

I was knocked the F***OUT!

The next thing I knew, I was on the side of the pitch with the St. Johns ambulance crew, and they were holding and packing my broken nose! My lovely sky blue shirt was RED with my blood.

And so I spent the day in the hospital. I moved out of my parent’s house a few months back and was living alone, and my mum came to look after me! After they released me from the hospital.

While I enjoy the game of football, playing in non-league settings with less experienced players can lead to more frequent collisions and injuries compared to professional leagues.

Despite the supposed health benefits of exercise, the type of activity matters significantly.

I find more enjoyment in watching football matches and hitting the gym than risking further injuries on the field.

As an adult, prioritising my overall health and well-being means steering clear of activities like football that pose a higher risk of injury.

I love football, but I love my nose more.

©The LARO. All rights reserved

--

--

LARO ✨✨
Read or Die!

I write about Sports exploring success and failure, sharing insights with readers. Dedicated father and husband building my business.