Is it worth it??

KarthikxLucky
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2024

A young man’s dilemma

Until I was 12, I thought I was special. I was the number-one-ranked student in my class.

I had to move because of my dad’s transfer. I went to boarding school for the next 5 years.

It turns out I was nothing special. A plain-old average guy.

The competition there taught me that I was a big fish in a small pond until then. Now, I am in the ocean, and I am considered too small to even be noticed.

I graduated with a degree in Bachelor of Technology.

From a background that has nothing to do with where I am working now.

What am I doing? I don’t know.

Where am I headed? I don’t know.

All I understand is that the path I have been on for the last three years is not mine. I am going with the flow of life.

If I stay on the same course, I will never find out who I am.

What’s my purpose? Is it the same old life of running towards a destination that never seems to come any closer? I don’t know.

Good things take time, they say. How long? I don’t know that either.

Can you believe that in 24 years, I still can not give you a confident answer if you ask who I am? Ridiculous.

My aspirations seem too far away. Dreams seemed to be slipping out of my arms as the days go by.

I am afraid…

--

--

KarthikxLucky
Read or Die!

Sharing the Lessons I Learned on Self-Improvement, Productivity, and Mental Health in my newsletter: https://lessons-to-self.beehiiv.com/subscribe