The Round Ball Of Life

Is Talent Enough to Make You Successful

Talent or Hard work, which one do you need?

LARO ✨✨
Read or Die!

--

Photo by Nik on Unsplash

I used to really hate it when people labelled me as naturally talented. I guess I then got kind of caught up in that idea and didn’t work as hard as I should have done.

But I should have realised that just having a natural gift isn’t enough in the long run.

I think that statement took away all the hard work that I would put into learning football skills.

Which comes first

There has always been this debate about which is the most important:

Can you have one without the other?

Our school sports day used to be fun. I say that because when you win, it’s always fun. I used to bask in the glory of winning the 100m and the 200m.

The teachers used to say I was gifted, and my classmates actually said I had an unfair advantage because I was black.

Really, can you believe that?

I dominated these races from the age of 11 until I was 16. Then others started to run faster than me!!!

But I digress…

Talent:

Innate abilities, whether it’s a natural flair for music, athletic prowess, or exceptional study skills, can provide a head start.

Talented individuals often stand out from the crowd.

However, talent alone isn’t a guarantee of success.

It’s like my car. It has a powerful engine — which I think is essential, but without fuel (hard work), it won’t take me far.

Hard Work:

Hard work levels the playing field. It’s the determination and sweat that turns potential into achievement. While talent might fade, hard work is a steady companion. It’s the daily grind, in the relentless pursuit of improvement.

When faced with setbacks, hard work keeps you going. The midnight oil burned while you study, the extra mile run, and the pain endured. Hard work helps you adapt to each situation. It’s the practice, the study, and the repetition that refine skills.

Can you have one without the other:

Let’s go back to my short athletic career. When I think back, I had the talent and put in the work to stay ahead of the competition. As I got older and more into playing football, something had to give.

I concentrated more on football, and my athletic training suffered. I was not consistent enough to compete, so by the time I was 16, I was not as good as those who worked smart and practised continually.

The Verdict:

To achieve long-term success — While talent can open doors, hard work sustains you. It’s the long game that matters. We need to strive for both. Feed your talents, but don’t neglect the grind. Ultimately, it’s not about choosing one over the other. It’s about choosing both.

Talent may give you that initial spark in sports and life, but hard work fuels the fire. So, lace up those shoes, practice that instrument, study for that exam and remember,

Success is about working smart and hard!

--

--

LARO ✨✨
Read or Die!

I write about Sports exploring success and failure, sharing insights with readers. Dedicated father and husband building my business.