Is Veganism falling out of flavour?

I know it’s a silly title but indulge me.

barry robinson
Read or Die!
2 min readJun 26, 2023

--

Chocolate cake possibly not vegan. Photo by Cristina Matos-Albers on Unsplash

It would appear the tide is turning against the surge of people choosing plant-based foods as opposed to those who prefer meat, poultry, fish and dairy in their daily diet.

A Yorkshire sausage maker has reduced its vegan sausage range from ten to two, and the ‘Garden Gourmet’ has been removed from The Nestle range of products.

It seems the demand for vegan food is diminishing.

Now I am not a vegan. I prefer the meat and dairy etc... in my diet.

But I am not one of those people who think vegans are members of a weird cult, far from it.

I am aware that many people choose to be vegan as a lifestyle or for health reasons.

And I have indulged in veganism.

My wife and I share several grandchildren between us, two of them are vegan: one from each camp.

The oldest grandson visited a few months ago and my wife prepared a vegan meal.

We had something called Jack Fruit. I have no idea what jack fruit tastes like, as it was in a delicious curry. But as a meat substitute, it certainly ticked the right boxes as far as I was concerned.

My stepdaughter has a partner and a son who are also a vegan.

Whenever we have a meal with her family, she cooks two versions.

The vegan version, and the other version. (I was going to say normal, but I don’t want to be trolled.)

So, I have had the opportunity to compare them in one sitting.

I must admit I Favour the non-vegan version. But if the vegan version of the Taliban ever took over the world, there would be no reason to stone me to death. I could learn to live with it.

However, there is one exception.

Vegan chocolate cake.

I have never had the desire to eat the cold ashes of a coal or wood fire.

Now I have no reason to. Because I am pretty sure I know what they would taste like.

Vegan chocolate cake. 😂

Thank you and goodnight.

More food-based articles from me.

How the Italians caught me at a young age

A tale of Macaroni, a tinned pie, my dad and me.

--

--