CHORES || POETRY

Laundry Affair

Poem challenge

Adrian CDTPPW
Read or Die!
Published in
4 min readJun 8, 2023

--

If you want unlimited access to this story and many others like it, use this link to sign up for a premium membership: https://medium.com/@cdtppy/membership. For just $5 per month, you will have unlimited access to Medium.

FAMILY HEIRLOOM: MY MOM’S OLD WASHING MACHINE || PHOTO BY AUTHOR

Since my damn laundry piled up so much,
The washing machine went out of touch!
Tried to nudge it, but I broke a toe;
The old scrapyard will get a new tow!

That machine was like a good old wife:
Way too demanding, caused too much strife!
A brand new one will be worth the dime:
It won’t say “no” to me all the time!

“Yep, ‘no’ means ‘no,’ but you need to go;
I’m in dire need of some hum and blow!
I had enough; I won’t wash by hand.
My mere presence is in high demand!”

How much for that one over there?
That’s too much; get outta here!

Can’t do this; she’s the one and only.
I’ll get her fixed; forgive her folly!
I’ll give her a chance, see how she fares.
Lest I’ll have some laundromat affairs!

--

--

Adrian CDTPPW
Read or Die!

Boost Nominator. Hammock "Guru." Writing down his silly musings. Having fun. Owner of Read or Die & Read or Die - HQ.