Letting Go Of The Fear of Surgery

And surrendering to the flow of things

Sandy Maximus
Read or Die!

--

Scrabble tiles saying “Let it go”
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I was dealing with bunion pain in my early 40s. It is when a bony bump forms at the base of the big toe. My home remedies included trying to wear orthotics, buying wide shoes, and wearing a toe separator in the shoes, among a few other remedies on the internet that kept me from visiting a doctor for a couple of years.

When all else failed and I could no longer bear the throbbing pain, I went to a podiatrist. The doctor walked in, looked at the x-rays, and informed me that I would need a surgery called bunionectomy. He asked me to call him when I was ready for the surgery and left for his next appointment.

While I was in shock for a few minutes hearing the word “surgery,” I wasn’t going to join his fan club anytime soon because of his poor interpersonal skills. He could have been the best surgeon, but I needed a more responsive doctor. Perhaps, some compassion.

I went for a second opinion to Dr. C, who came highly recommended. Dr. C gave me the same news. The only difference is that he took 45 minutes to answer all my questions and consoled me through my crying fit.

The truth is that I was scared of surgeries. I still am. I’d never had an injury or illness that required one. Both my deliveries were natural births. I was…

--

--

Sandy Maximus
Read or Die!

An academic, a mother, and a wanna-be writer in (pre) cancer treatment with interests from travel to tennis, personal stories, and life lessons.