Living Alone Is a Tiring Task

Daksh Parmar
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readMay 6, 2024

I look around and wonder, if it’s good to live alone or with someone.

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

I remember in my college times when, I was living in a hostel, with food included. I don’t have to think too much about the food, I just go to the mess and eat. Even tho the food was not very good but still, you had to make a compromise where your bigger challenge was to get a good grade.

I had a roommate, who could eat anything, so he wouldn’t complain and I didn’t eat much so there was nothing left to complain about.

But In my final year, I decided to live on my own, I was worried about my future, and also I wanted to get the experience of living alone.

By the way, I did think about living with a classmate, but he wasn’t keen on cleaning things and cooking on his own, and finally, I moved out alone.

Living alone was a unique experience, I tend to worry about things, that before haven’t thought of before. Washing and ironing my clothes, and food, cleaning the toilet, making my room at least livable, since it wasn’t a room with two beds. I learned alot, it kind of did affect my grade in my 5th semester but I quickly recovered.

But it was tiring, I remember one time, I had an assignment, for which I had to do something in the early morning, I didn’t have much money to order online, so I bought a small packet of milk. Spend my whole day, completing assignments, ate nothing, had no shower, finished it at 4 AM, caught an early bus, ran to my department’s building, which is almost a km away, and submitted at 7 AM.

Those learning experiences made me realize, how hard it is to even maintain ourselves, and if living alone, then your flat/room/house too.

Now, I am living with my parents, so I got spoiled but still, I keep it in mind that I am lucky, I don’t have to worry about so many things, other than work.

My mom didn’t have time to go out and travel, since she was busy taking care of me and my brother later my grandfather. But now she is free, we told her, don’t worry about the money, just go where you want to. My mother is religious so she of course wants to travel to pilgrims and historical temples.

She went travel and left me and the house alone, telling me to buckle up and have the experience of living alone and doing things on my own.

What do you prefer, living alone or with someone?

--

--