My Mom and Dad

William Michael Williamson
Read or Die!
Published in
6 min readNov 15, 2023

--

I Appreciate Them More the Older I Get

Photo by Nienke Burgers on Unsplash

When we are growing up, we always think that we know better than our parents. Many times, we challenge them to the point of causing them real headaches. The truth of the matter is that while they weren’t always right, they still had many more years of experience than us.

I love my mom and dad very much. My dad is gone now but I can honestly say that I cherished him for many years before his passing. In my older years my parents became my best friends and closest confidants if you will. When growing up I felt safe and cared for.

My dad worked many hours over his lifetime at Ford Motor Company. So many that I really wish that he would have taken more time to play hard and to stop and smell the roses. I’m convinced that because he worked so much his passing came much sooner than if he would have slowed down some.

The reason why he worked so much is that he never wanted his family to be lacking anything. We always had new clothes every school year and always more than enough food on the table. Many times, we had grandparents over for visiting and dinners oftentimes on weekends when my dad had more of a chance of being off. My mom was a great cook. She made the best home cooked dinners that were mostly healthy, and we only occasionally ate fast food on some busy nights when my dad worked late.

--

--

William Michael Williamson
Read or Die!

I am interested in sharing my life experiences through my writings. I have had some challenging, but sometimes enlightening times as someone with bipolar.