Never Trust Your First Thought

Learning to be suspicious of our minds

Gabriella H.
Read or Die!

--

Author’s image

I have a friend who loves to call me a failure.

Whenever I’m riding high on a good day, this buddy swoops in to remind me of all the things that could be better, and as a bonus, it loves to list all the things I’ve messed up.

“Remember 5th grade when you were sure Ryan liked you? And then when you tried to kiss him, he asked if you were missing a few neurons?”

“Oh, and just in case I haven’t mentioned it today, everyone hates you, including that gentleman over there that has never met you. Just a friendly reminder!”

I would’ve kicked this friend to the curb ages ago… if it didn’t happen to live inside my skull.

Don’t Trust Yourself

Today’s positive talk has us believing we can’t doubt ourselves.

We’re supposed to trust every half-baked thought that our brain spews out and follow our gut like it’s a genius GPS.

As a deeply anxious person, I have to respectfully disagree.
That is simply not the best approach for a mind that’s a whirlwind of anxious thoughts, simmering depression, and the occasional bout of self-loathing.

  • Trusting my brain means believing that I’m…

--

--

Gabriella H.
Read or Die!

I’m always curious, always looking for something new to learn, using life as a learning canvas.