New Writers, This Grammar Mistake Is Holding You Back (Easy Fix)

The most common grammar mistake I’ve seen as an editor

Andres Vourakis
Read or Die!

--

Photo by OSPAN ALI on Unsplash

I kept running out of breath…and I’m a runner.

I recently became an editor for one of my favorite Medium publications Short.Sweet.Valuable which means I’ve been spending a lot of time reading submissions, making sure images are properly credited and leaving feedback here and there and luckily for me every story is about 300 words long which means I can get through multiple stories fairly quickly and honestly, unless your story is AI-generated or discusses a very controversial topic, we will publish it within a day or two.

Okay, let’s pause for a minute…

Were you able to follow that monster of a sentence without pausing to catch your breath?

If the answer is yes, then please leave me a comment. I would like to know your resting heart rate and your cardio training routine.

The run-on sentence

I was obviously exaggerating a bit with my example, because fortunately, I haven’t encountered anything that bad, yet.

But putting together very long sentences without the proper use of commas (,) and periods (.) is quite common among new writers.

--

--

Andres Vourakis
Read or Die!

Data Scientist turned Solopreneur. Follow my journey to Financial Freedom. https://linktr.ee/avourakis