Only a Fool Takes a Woman’s Love for Granted.

It can happen over the washing of a car and not buying flowers.

Harry Hogg
Read or Die!
4 min readApr 26, 2024

--

Image: Author — Marriage Dynamite

I felt something different as I drew back the curtains and looked at the woodland cops on the rising meadow. I leaned forward and looked down to check on my Ferrari, parked in its usual place on the drive. It looked red and beautiful, with no scratch on the paintwork.

I shrugged off the feeling and turned back towards the unmade bed. The digital clock read 9:47. Jenny would have left a couple of hours before, but the impression of her head was still embedded in the pillow.

She only works on Saturdays, volunteering at a homeless shelter, and had gone to bed early the previous evening.

Fortunately, she knows how to get up without disturbing me.

But I still felt something had changed. Again, I looked out the window. Then, like a dork, I realized what it was. Everything was the same as a weekday — but it was a Saturday. Why is Jenny’s Mini Cooper parked in its usual spot? Why, if she’d gone to volunteer? Our cottage is miles from town.

I crossed the room, walked to the top of the stairs, and called out her name as I descended. No reply, so she’d gone. I entered the lounge, crossed the bay window, and opened the curtains. From here, I had a better view of my Ferrari. I paused to admire its sleek lines. It was just coming up to its first birthday. When I bought it, Jenny had called me extravagant. But women don’t understand these things. A car says a lot about a man. It’s who you are.

Irritatingly, a robin alighted on the wing mirror, but then it flew down into the front garden to peck at something between the rose bushes. Jenny had said something about the roses needing pruning. I’d leave that to her; gardening isn’t my thing.

Anyway, Saturday is always wash-and-wax day. Washing the Mini Cooper wastes my time; it doesn’t help with its appearance. Anyway, it’s three years old.

I wondered again why her Mini Copper was still parked in the drive. She parked around the corner from the Ferrari; it didn’t look suitable alongside. You know what I mean, right?

I hoped she hadn’t wasted money on a taxi, though I needed help thinking about how else she would get to work. Then I remembered she’d said something about a new volunteer three or four months back. What was his name? Peter? Philip? Something like that.

Perhaps he had offered her a lift. Had she said something about this guy house-hunting? I do know he couldn’t afford to live in this area. doing volunteer work.

I turned away from the window and headed for the kitchen, trying to decide what to have for breakfast. During the week, Jenny cooks me a full English breakfast. On Saturdays, I opt for coffee and toast.

I carried it back into the lounge and selected the classic music channel on the Bose. After finishing breakfast, I went back upstairs to the bathroom.

When I came down, my first job was to wash the Ferrari. It took me ages to find the shampoo. At first, I thought Jenny had moved it to the wrong bloody shelf or something. But then I saw it. It was odd that I hadn’t noticed it before. It was right in the middle of the kitchen table, and under it was a folded note from Jenny.

Dear Harry,

I’m sorry, I can’t tell you this face to face, but we would only have a blazing row, and nothing would be gained. I’m going on holiday with Paul, and then I’m moving in with him. We’re taking a taxi to the airport, and by the time you get up, we’ll probably be boarding. I’ll pick up the Mini Cooper and stuff in two weeks.

Jenny

The bitch. How could she do this to me?

(No offense will be taken if you dislike being tagged for various reasons. Please let me know, and I’ll be sure it doesn’t happen on my posts again. If, on the other hand, you’d grace me by allowing a tag, I’d be thrilled to add you.

--

--

Harry Hogg
Read or Die!

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2025