Passion and Commitment Will Always Stand Out

Do we really need multiple degrees?

Olga Panagiotopoulou
Read or Die!
2 min readAug 1, 2024

--

Photo by Johnny Briggs on Unsplash

I decided to write this post after a conversation with a fellow student who, after I expressed my desire to work in a publishing house, suggested I needed a bachelor’s in philology. This struck me as strange. Why is it that our society often deems us unqualified without a specific degree, even if we’ve spent considerable time honing our craft?

I hold a bachelor’s in social theology with an excellent grade, indicating strong research and writing experience in challenging subjects. I am currently pursuing a master’s in philosophy, another demanding sector, and have been deeply immersed in literature my entire life.

Since childhood, I’ve been an avid reader and writer, winning a poetry contest at sixteen, maintaining a blog, writing and publishing over 150 articles online, finishing my first short story fiction book, and completing a Harvard course on world literature.

Despite all this, I realized that people will still doubt my qualifications for whatever I decide to do beyond the narrow borders of my degree’s traditional scope.

I can’t really understand this. Many renowned writers didn’t have formal degrees in creative writing or philology, yet they wrote history. Degrees can offer advantages, but passion, focus, and dedication are what truly drive success. A degree might give you a head start, but it doesn’t make you superior. A passionate individual can quickly master the necessary skills and excel.

So, for those feeling the need for multiple degrees to validate their aspirations: prioritize what you love. Acquire the skills, seek relevant jobs, and pursue internships. Passion and commitment will always stand out!

--

--