Poetry on Medium

The City

A reality that hits my soul every day

Ani Vals
Read or Die!

--

I lie in the shackles of the concrete city.
A city shrouded by misty veils.
Where no one feels tired and hungry
and smiles eternal sleep are asleep.

Every morning comes with the smell of leaves
and I rush to the window to smell it.
But the leaves — lit by the cleanliness company,
are throwing skinny bodies on the paving stones.

The lungs are fading from the latest smog,
looming like a canopy in the city chambers.
So I want with a single leap,
to escape the stuffy vipers.

But it’s too late, and if I’ve survived
the smoky embrace of public transport,
once I’ve survived the battle against time,
I need no further comfort.

More of my poems here:

Poems by Ani Vals

38 stories

If you want to receive an email each time I post on my profile, you can follow me and subscribe here. 📩 ✍️

--

--

Ani Vals
Read or Die!

English teacher| writer| poet| passionate about creative writing, books, travelling, art, relationships, parenting, psychology and expressing personal insights.